All the dirt, news, culture and commentary for Oklahoma's second century.

2016 Oklahoma Human Rights Awards go live at State Capitol this Saturday

UNA-OKC Facebook page
Fertile Ground Compost Service
Help support Red Dirt Report

OKLAHOMA CITY – A “celebration of the rights expressed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights” will be held at 10 a.m. Dec. 10 in the chamber of the State House of Representatives at the State Capitol, 2300 N. Lincoln Blvd.

Dubbed the 2016 Oklahoma Human Rights Awards, the program will honor human rights champions in our state and is a joint effort by the Oklahoma Universal Human Rights Alliance and the Oklahoma City chapter of the United Nations Association.

According to the UNA-OKC, previous winners of this award have included educators, physicians, students, and community volunteers from different communities and all areas of the social strata. These people “defend the weak, they teach justice and they inspire us by their example to recognize our own rights and to uphold the rights of others.”

The 2016 Oklahoma Human Rights Award Winners include Miguel Baez, Richard Ray Whitman, Father Tim Luschen, Priya Desai, The Dialogue Institute of Oklahoma and Moises Echeverria, to name a few.  Every winner will be commended for their “enduring commitment to the values and principles expressed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights”.

Widely regarded as a “milestone document,” the Universal Declaration of Human Rights was drafted by representatives with different legal and cultural backgrounds from all regions of the world. The Declaration was proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly in Paris on December 10, 1948, as a “common standard of achievements for all peoples and all nations.”

The event will be hosted by former State Representative Seneca Scott and admission is free. After the awards assembly, guests are invited to stay and take part in a follow-up Free Speech Forum in the Senate Assembly Room starting at noon.

The full list of 2016 Oklahoma Human Rights Award Winners:

Miguel Baez, Oklahoma City

Sara Zaynab Bana, Midwest City

David Brinker, MD, Oklahoma City

Dr. Lindsey Churchill, Edmond

Priya Desai, MSW, Oklahoma City

The Dialogue Institute of Oklahoma, OKC & Tulsa

Moises Echeverria, Tulsa

Rex D. Friend, Oklahoma City

Robert M. Goldman, Oklahoma City

Tom Guild, Edmond, OK

Dr. Nyla Ali Khan, Norman

Father Tim Luschen, Oklahoma City

Roberto Mendoza, Oklahoma City

Multicultural Education Institute,Edmond

OKC Artists for Justice, Oklahoma City

Allen Parlier & Elia Woods, Oklahoma City

Garland Pruitt, Choctaw, OK

Sache Primeaux-Shaw, Oklahoma City

Andrew Sartain, Earth Rebirth, Norman

Seneca Scott, Tulsa

Marjan Seirafi-Pour, Norman

Catalina Serrano, Oklahoma City

Mana Tahaie, Tulsa

Angelica Villalobos Solis, Oklahoma City

The Gordon and Pauline Wahpepah Family, Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma

John T. Walters, Oklahoma City

Richard Ray Whitman, Oklahoma City

Enjoy this? Please share it!

About the Author

Louis Fowler

Güicho. Gadfly. Chicano. Choctaw. Cristero. Freelancer. Leftist. Activist. Vilified. PKD....

read more

Enjoy this? Please share it!

About Red Dirt Report

Red Dirt Report was launched July 4, 2007 as an independent news website covering all manner of news, culture, entertainment and lifestyle stories that affect and interest Oklahoma readers and readers outside of our state. Our mission is to educate, promote civic engagement and discourse on public policy, government and politics. Our experienced journalists provided balanced in-depth coverage of news stories that affect Oklahomans. Our opinion/editorial stories come from a wide range of political view points. We carry out our mission by reporting, writing, and posting news and information. read more

Member of the Oklahoma Press Association
Member of Investigative Reporters & Editors
Member of Diversity Business Association
Member of Uptown 23rd
Rotary Club of Bricktown OKC
Keep it Local OK